STAGING Houghton amongst late withdrawals - British Rowing

Houghton amongst late withdrawals

Triple world champion Frances Houghton is amongst a late flurry of rowers who have been forced by illness out of this weekend’s GB Rowing Senior Trials in Hazewinkel, Belgium, where racing has been advanced by a day because of predicted bad weather.

James Lindsay-Fynn, world champion in the lightweight men’s four, and Josh West, a world bronze medallist in last year’s men’s eight, will also be absent through illness.  As will former world U23 lightweight women’s single scull champion Hester Goodsell.  West’s place with Alastair Heathcote in the men’s pair race – the one to watch this weekend –  will now be taken by Toby Garbett who has moved across from the men’s single scull contest.


Andy Hodge and Peter Reed remain favourites to win the event but could face a close contest from several other pairs.

Meanwhile the trials’ organisers are keeping a close eye on weather patterns.  The provisional timetable (times given are  one hour ahead of the UK) for the event will  now be to race time-trials this afternoon (between 3.30 and 4.30pm) followed by semi-finals tomorrow morning (between 9.30 and 11.50am) and finals tomorrow afternoon (between 4.00 and 6.00pm).

"All times are subject to change", said GB Rowing’s Performance Director at today’s race briefing.  "We will keep an eye on conditions and keep our options open".

GB’s adaptive rowers (those seeking to compete at this year’s Paralympic Games in Beijing) are also in action this weekend with internal trials.

=============================== ===============================



Pair (5 pairs)

Alice Freeman (Wallingford RC)/Carla Ashford (Ox Brookes)
Baz Moffat (Thames RC)/Louisa Reeve (Leander Club)
Rachel Loveridge (Leander Club)/Jo Cook (Leander Club)
Vicky Myers (Leander Club)/Emma Windham (Leander Club)
Lindsay Maguire (Wallingford RC)/Briony Cavell (Wallingford RC)

Single scull (14)

Vicky Etiebet (Uni of London)
Debbie Flood (Leander Club)
Katherine Grainger (St Andrew BC)
Elise Laverick (Thames RC)
Beth Rodford (Thames RC)
Louisa Rowbotham (Leander Club)
Florence Temple (Thames RC)
Annie Vernon (Marlow)
Sarah Winckless (Walbrook CC)
Olivia Whitlam (Agecroft RC)
Sarah Cowburn (Worcester RC)
Atlanta St John (Wallingford RC)
Tina Stiller (Wallingford RC)
Ruth Walczak (Uni or London BC)

Withdrawals since previous list:

Frances Houghton (Uni of London BC) – ill


Single scull (8)

Alan Campbell (Tideway Scullers)
Brendan Crean (Agecroft)
Simon Fieldhouse (Molesey BC)
Alex Gregory (Reading Uni)
Steve Rowbotham (Leander Club)
Sam Townsend (Reading Uni)
Kieran West (Molesey BC)
Bill Lucas (Reading Uni)

Withdrawals since previous list:

Toby Garbett (Leander Club) – moved to men’s pair with Alastair Heathcote
Oli Moore (Oxford Uni) – academic exemption

Pair (14 pairs)

Peter Reed  (Leander Club)/Andy Hodge (Molesey)
Colin Smith (Leander Club)/Tom James (Molesey)
Steve Williams (Leander Club)/Matt Langridge (Leander Club)
Alex Partridge (Leander Club)/Rick Egington (Leander Club)
Alastair Heathcote (Army RC)/Toby Garbett (Leander Club)
Robin Bourne-Taylor (Army BC) / Tom Stallard (Leander Club)
Tom Solesbury (Molesey)/Tom Parker (Ox Brookes)
Marcus Bateman (Leander Club)/Tom Lucy (Ox Brookes)
James Orme (Leander Club)/Ian Lawson (Leander Club)
Dan Ritchie (Reading Uni)/Mohamed Sbihi (Molesey)
Will Laughton (Imperial)/Cameron Nichol (Uni of London)
Tom Broadway (Leander Club)/Tom Burton (Leander Club)
George Laughton (Leander Club)/Henry Palmer (Leander Club)
Tom Wilkinson (Leander Club)/Colin Williamson (Leander Club)

Withdrawals since previous list:

Josh West (Leander Club) – ill. Replaced by Toby Garbett from men’s single scull field.



Single scull (7)

Helen Casey (Wallingford)
Laura Greenhalgh (Reading Uni)
Jane Hall (Leander Club)
Sophie Hosking (London RC)
Elaine Johnstone (Tideway Scullers)
Anna Townsend (Mortlake Anglian & Alpha)
Emma Steel (Durham Uni)

Withdrawals since previous list: 

Andrea Dennis (Wallingford) and Hester Goodsell (Reading Uni) – ill


Single scull (17)

Matt Beechey (Leander Club)
Richard Chambers (Ox Brookes)
James Clarke (London)
Andrew Dax (Leander Club)
Adam Freeman-Pask (Imperial)
Danny Harte (London)
Mark Hunter (Leander Club)
Ross Hunter (Leander Club)
Simon Jones (Leander Club)
Paul Keane (Walton RC)
Alistair Leighton-Crawford (Tideway Scullers)
Oli Mahony (London)
Paul Mattick (Wallingford)
Rob Williams (London)
Alex Woods (Wallingford)

Withdrawals since previous list:

Stephen Feeney (London) – ill
James Lindsay-Fynn (London) – ill

Additions since previous list:

Chris Boddy (Tees RC) – omitted in error previously
Bob Hewitt (Tees RC) – omitted in error previously