STAGING GB Rowing Team squad update for World Rowing Cup II - British Rowing

GB Rowing Team squad update for World Rowing Cup II

Two crews from the GB Para-Rowing Team have been withdrawn from racing this weekend at World Rowing Cup II


Lauren Rowles (credit Naomi Baker)

Paralympic champion Laurence Whiteley has been withdrawn as a medical precaution. His PR2 mixed double sculls teammate, Lauren Rowles, will now be racing in the PR2 women’s single sculls.

Rowles and Whiteley won Paralympic gold together in Rio and had a strong start to the 2019 season, winning two silver medals at the Gavirate International Regatta in May.


Speaking about the change, Rowles said: “We’re disappointed not to be racing the double this weekend, however, our priority has to be qualifying for Tokyo 2020 at the World Championships this August.

“I’m excited to still be able to race the single and to showcase what I’ve been working on in training.”

Paralympic champion James Fox and his PR3 men’s pair teammate Ollie Stanhope have also been withdrawn to prioritise their training as part of the PR3 coxed four.

You can follow the GB Rowing Team at World Rowing Cup II from 21-23 June live across British Rowing’s social media channels and also watch them in action on BBC online and on the red button from 10.00 to 13.50 hours on Sunday, 23 June.

GB Rowing Team crews for World Cup II

Men’s pair (M2-)

Harry Glenister (Club: Leander Club / Hometown: Princes Risborough)

George Rossiter (Leander Club / Newbury)

Coach: Steve Trapmore


Morgan Bolding (Oxford Brookes University /Withiel)

James Johnston (Leander Club / Henley-on-Thames)

Coach: Steve Trapmore

Men’s four (M4-)

Ollie Cook (Univ. of London BC / Windsor)

Matt Rossiter (Leander Club/ Newbury)

Rory Gibbs (Oxford Brookes University / Marlow)

Sholto Carnegie (Leander Club / Oxford)

Coach: Christian Felkel


Will Satch (Leander Club / Henley-on-Thames)

Tom Jeffery (Leander Club / Plymouth)

Alan Sinclair (Leander Club / Inverness)

Adam Neill (Leander Club / Peterborough)

Coach: Christian Felkel

Men’s eight (M8+)

Tom Ford (Leander Club / Holmes Chapel)

James Rudkin (Newcastle Univ. BC / Litchborough)

Tom George (Leander Club / Cheltenham)

Mohamed Sbihi (Molesey BC / Surbiton)

Jacob Dawson (Leander Club / Plymouth)

Ollie Wynne-Griffith (Leander Club / Guildford)

Mat Tarrant (Oxford Brookes Univ BC / Shepperton)

Josh Bugajski (Oxford Brookes Univ. BC / Stockport)

Henry Fieldman (cox) (Leander Club / London)

Coaches: Jürgen Grobler/Steve Trapmore

Men’s single (M1x)

Tom Barras (Leander Club / Staines)

Coach: Paul Stannard


Harry Leask (Leander Club / Edinburgh)

Coach: Dan Moore

Men’s double (M2x)

John Collins (Leander Club / Twickenham)

Graeme Thomas (Agecroft RC / Preston)

Coach: Dan Moore

Lightweight men’s double (LM2x)

Zak Lee-Green (Agecroft RC / Cardiff)

Will Fletcher (Leander Club / Chester-le-Street)

Coach: Hamish Burrell


Jamie Copus (Oxford Brookes Univ BC / Oxford)

Sam Mottram (Leander Club / Stoke Mandeville)

Coach: Hamish Burrell

Men’s quadruple sculls (M4x)

Jack Beaumont (Leander Club / Maidenhead)

Jonny Walton (Leander Club / Leicester)

Angus Groom (Leander Club / Glasgow)

Pete Lambert (Leander Club / Maidenhead)

Coach: Paul Stannard

Women’s pair (W2-)

Anastasia Posner (Leander Club / Oxford)

Oonagh Cousins (University of London BC / Farnham)

Coach: James Harris

Women’s four (W4-)

Sara Parfett (University of London BC / Rochester)

Caragh McMurtry (Southampton Coalporters ARC / Southampton)

Rebecca Girling (Molesey BC / Fareham)

Emily Ford (Leander Club / Holmes Chapel)

Coach: Tom Pattichis


Sam Courty (Univ. of Bath BC / Alnwick)

Holly Hill (Cambridge Univ. Women’s BC / Isle of Ely RC / Gossington)

Polly Swann (Univ. of Edinburgh / Edinburgh)

Annie Withers (Leander Club / Kingston)

Coach: Tom Pattichis

Women’s eight (W8-)

Karen Bennett (Leander Club / Edinburgh)

Hattie Taylor (Leander Club / Sunningdale)

Fiona Gammond (Leander Club / Bicester)

Zoë Lee (Imperial College BC / Richmond, N. Yorks)

Jo Wratten (Leander Club / Middlesbrough)

Rebecca Shorten (Imperial College BC / Belfast)

Rowan McKellar (Leander Club / Glasgow)

Holly Norton (Leander Club / Johannesburg, RSA)

Morgan Baynham-Williams (cox) (Leander Club / Ross-on-Wye)

Coach: James Harris

Women’s single (W1x)

Vicky Thornley (Leander Club / Wrexham)

Coach: Paul Reedy

Women’s double (W2x)

Ruth Siddorn (Leander Club / Chester)

Georgina Brayshaw (Leander Club / Leeds)

Coach: Paul Reedy

Lightweight women’s double sculls (LW2x)

Eleanor Piggott (Wallingford RC / Bedford)

Imogen Grant (Cambridge Univ. Women’s BC / Cambridge)

Coach: Darren Whiter


Maddie Arlett (Edinburgh Univ. BC / Selkirk)

Emily Craig (University of London BC / Mark Cross)

Coach: Darren Whiter

PR1 Men’s single sculls (PR1 M1x)

Andy Houghton (Maidenhead RC / Newbury)

Coach: Tom Dyson


Ben Pritchard (City of Swansea RC / Swansea)

Coach: Tom Dyson

PR2 women’s single sculls (PR2 W1x)

Lauren Rowles (Worcester RC / Bromsgrove)

Coach: Tom Dyson