STAGING Which GB Rowing Team athletes will be competing at Henley Royal Regatta 2019? - British Rowing

Which GB Rowing Team athletes will be competing at Henley Royal Regatta 2019?

If you’re heading down to Henley Royal Regatta this week, keep an eye out for nine senior GB crews who will be representing their clubs at the historic event


GB's second women's eight will be competing at Henley. Credit Nick Middleton

Competing as Cambridge University Women’s BC/Reading BC, the women’s quad of Jess Leyden, Melissa Wilson, Mathilda Hodgkins-Byrne and Charlotte Hodgkins-Byrne will race for the first time since the European Championships in the Princess Grace Challenge Cup.

In the Remenham Challenge Cup, the Imperial College BC/Leander Club women’s eight of Karen BennettHattie TaylorFiona Gammond, Zoë LeeJo WrattenRebecca Shorten, Rowan McKellar, Holly Norton and cox Matilda Horn will compete against Natasha Harris-White, Susie Dear, Samantha Redgrave, Oonagh Cousins, Fiona Bell, Alice Davies, Rebecca Edwards, Nicole Lamb and cox Morgan Baynham-Williams who are racing as University of London BC/Molesey BC.


The double silver medal-winning men’s eight will be testing themselves against the competition in the Grand Challenge Cup, while Leander’s Harry Leask will be making his season debut in the Diamond Challenge Sculls.

The GB Rowing Team will then be heading to Rotterdam next weekend to compete in the third and final World Cup of the year.

Chief Coach Jurgen Grobler OBE paid tribute to Henley Royal, saying: “Henley is an absolutely outstanding traditional rowing event. If an athlete races there even once in their career, they will never forget it”.

All five days of the Regatta can be watched live and on demand on YouTube:


Senior GB Rowing Team entries to Henley Royal Regatta

The Princess Grace Challenge Cup (W4x)

Cambridge University Women’s BC / Reading RC

Jess Leyden (Leander Club)

Melissa Wilson (Cambridge Univ. Women’s BC)

Mathilda Hodgkins-Byrne (Reading Univ. BC)

Charlotte Hodgkins-Byrne (University of London BC)

The Remenham Challenge Cup (W8+)

Imperial College BC / Leander Club

Karen Bennett (Leander Club)

Hattie Taylor (Leander Club)

Fiona Gammond (Leander Club)

Zoë Lee (Imperial College BC)

Jo Wratten (Leander Club)

Rebecca Shorten (Imperial College BC)

Rowan McKellar (Leander Club)

Holly Norton (Leander Club)

Matilda Horn (cox) (Univ. of London BC)

Univ of London BC/Molesey BC

Natasha Harris-White (Leander Club)

Susie Dear (Leander Club)

Samantha Redgrave (Norwich RC)

Oonagh Cousins (University of London BC)

Fiona Bell (Queen’s Univ. Ladies BC)

Alice Davies (Univ. of London BC)

Rebecca Edwards (Molesey BC)

Nicole Lamb (Sheffield Univ. BC)

Morgan Baynham-Williams (cox) (Leander Club)

The Diamond Challenge Sculls (M1x)

Harry Leask (Leander Club)

The Double Sculls Challenge Cup (M2x)

Leander Club / Agecroft RC

John Collins (Leander Club)

Graeme Thomas (Agecroft RC)

The Queen Mother Challenge Cup (M4x)

Leander Club

Jonny Walton (Leander Club)

Angus Groom (Leander Club)

Jack Beaumont (Leander Club)

Pete Lambert (Leander Club)

The Stewards’ Challenge Cup (M4-)

Oxford Brookes University BC / Leander Club

Ollie Cook (Univ. of London BC)

Matt Rossiter (Leander Club)

Rory Gibbs (Oxford Brookes University)

Sholto Carnegie (Leander Club)

Leander Club

James Johnston (Leander Club)

Adam Neill (Leander Club)

Will Satch (Leander Club)

Alan Sinclair (Leander Club)

The Grand Challenge Cup (M8+)

Oxford Brookes University BC / Leander Club

Tom Ford (Leander Club)

James Rudkin (Newcastle Univ. BC)

Tom George (Leander Club)

Mohamed Sbihi (Molesey BC)

Jacob Dawson (Leander Club)

Ollie Wynne-Griffith (Leander Club)

Mat Tarrant (Oxford Brookes Univ BC)

Josh Bugajski (Oxford Brookes Univ. BC)

Henry Fieldman (cox) (Leander Club)