STAGING The GB Rowing Team crews for the World U23 Championships have been announced - British Rowing

The GB Rowing Team crews for the World U23 Championships have been announced

Three of Great Britain’s 2007 world champion junior men’s four are reunited in the British team, announced today, to compete at the World U23 Champsionships in Racice, Czech Republic, from July 23-26.

Matt Rossiter and Kieren Emery feature in the men’s eight for Racice whilst their 2007 gold medal team-mate George Nash will race in the men’s coxed four.


GB’s men also include Matt Tarrant, selected for the men’s four, and Max Gander, announced today as the cox of the men’s coxed four, who both won world junior silver medals in 2008 in the coxed four.

Last year Bill Lucas and Charles Cousins won world U23 double scull gold and are now part of the senior squad, winning medals at world cup level, thus underlining the importance of this event as a stepping stone for young rowers.

Equally, Nathaniel Reilly O’Donnell and Anthony Locke, named in the eight, were world junior gold medallists in the four in 2006 along with Beijing silver medallist Tom Lucy.

The women’s squad for Racice includes Rachael Jefferies and Vicky Bryant, racing in the women’s eight, who previously won bronze medals at the same level in the women’s four in 2007 and 2008. They are joined by Emily Taylor who was part of that bronze medal crew in 2007.

2008 world junior bronze medallist Jenny Arnold has made the step up to U23 level and features in the women’s four.

The lightweight squad includes emerging talent Kat Copeland of Tees RC and Yarm School who, along with John Preston and Ben Rowe, racing in the lightweight men’s double scull, are part of a growing group of world-class lightweights who are based in the North East under the GB talent development squad.

Finally, Peter Chambers of Coleraine has begun to follow in the footsteps of his world champion brother, Richard. He is selected in the lightweight men’s quadruple scull.

=============================== ===============================
23-26 July 2009
Racice, Czech Republic

(From bow to stroke with cox. Includes club or school/home town/d.o.b).



Jenny Arnold (Reading Uni BC/Wargrave, Berks/06.02.90)/)/Olivia Oakes (Uni of London BC/Warrington/21.04.90)/Atlanta St John  (Wallingford/Reading/13.1.87)/Ruth Walczak (Uni of London/Rochdale/15.9.88)


Vicky Bryant (Oxford Brookes/Chester-le-Street/23.7.87)
Jacqui Round (Nottingham RC/St Neots/01.07.87)/
Monica Relph (Nottingham RC/Cambridge/15.01.88)
Vicky Thornley (Minerva Bath??Wrexham/30.11.87/
Michelle Vezie (Molesey BC/London/30.11.87)/
Emily Taylor (Durham Uni/Lincoln/10.30.87)
Leonora Kennedy (Thames RC/Enniskillen)/
Rachael Jefferies (Leander/Abingdon/2.9.87)/
Zoe De Toledo (cox) (Leander/London/17.07.87)



James Foad (Molesey BC/Southampton/20.03.87)/Mohamed Sbihi (Molesey BC/Surbiton/27.03.88)


Will Satch 9(Leander Club/??/09.06.89)/Matthew Tarrant
(Oxford Brookes/Walton/Shepperton/11.07.90)/
Will Laughton (University of London/Isle of
Man/17.06.87)/Scott Durant (Oxford Brookes/Halton,

Coxed Four

Karl Hudspith (Oxford Brookes/Twickenham/31.03.88)/
Ryan Bucke (to follow)
George Nash (CUBC/Guildford/02.10.89)
Ray Poulter (Leander BC/Henley/17.10.87/
Max Gander (Abingdon School/26.01.90) (cox)


Kieren Emery(Tyne RC/Newcastle-upon-Tyne/01.06.90)/
Chris Abraham (Oxford Brookes/Lisbellaw, N. Ireland/05.12.87)/
Nathaniel Reilly-O’Donnell (University of London/Durham/13.04.88)/
Tom Clark (Leander/Worcester/28.01.89)/
Ben Duggan (to follow)
Dan Ritchie (Reading Uni BC/Herne Bay/06.01.87)/
Anthony Locke (to follow)
Matt Rossiter (Abingdon School/Newbury/25.09.89)/
Henry Fieldman (Imperial College/London/25.11.88) (cox)



Single scull

Kat Copeland  (Yarm School BC &Tees RC/Stockton-on-Tees/01.12.90)


Double scull

John Preston (Reading Uni BC/Durham/16.04.89)/
Ben Rowe (Tees RC/Middlesbrough, N.Yorks/05.11.88)/

Quadruple scull

William Fletcher (Durham/Chester-le-Street)/
David Jones (Leander)/
Jonno Clegg  (Leander/Maidenhead/14.07.89)/
Peter Chambers (Oxford Brookes/Coleraine/14.03.90)

Team Management

David Tanner & Steve Gunn

Chief Coach: Peter Sheppard
Coaches: Tom Courtney, Paul Stannard, Chris Collerton, Henry Bailhache-Webb, Nick Strange, Nathan Adams

Doctor: Tom Jenkins
Physiotherapist:  Su Clarke
Drivers:  John Tetley, Ross Malone