STAGING The GB Rowing Team for the World Junior Championships has been announced - British Rowing

The GB Rowing Team for the World Junior Championships has been announced

The GB Rowing Team that will represent Great Britain at the 2009 World Junior Rowing Championships, to be held from 5-8 August in Brive-la-Gaillarde, France, has been announced today.

"This is one of the most focussed teams I have ever worked with", said GB Team Manager John Layng. "Everyone’s been getting on with their training with quiet determination. I’m excited by our prospects next week."


"It’s particularly exciting that this year we have clubs represented within the team that we haven’t had before. This is a positive step for junior rowing and it’s given even greater depth to the team", he added.

The GB team includes Amber Anderson and Olivia Carnegie-Brown, both 2008 junior worlds bronze medallists in the women’s four. They return to the four for 2009 with new crew members Caragh McMurtry and Brianna Stubbs.

Also returning from the 2008 team are Jason Philips, Will Perham and Rachael Gamble-Flint.

Philips, who was a silver medallist in the coxed four last year, will race in the men’s four this time around, and he is joined in the crew by Perham who finished fifth in this boat last year.

Gamble-Flint will race in the women’s single scull, having competed in the women’s double scull in 2008.

Amongst those selected for Great Britain for the first time is George Rossiter, who will race in the men’s eight. George is the younger brother of 2008 junior World Champion Matt Rossiter, who recently also competed for GB at U23 level – both Rossiter brothers have been selected to row at stroke in their respective national crews.

Another sibling following in a brother’s footsteps is Durham Amateur Rowing Club’s Helen Preston. Preston, selected for the women’s quadruple scull, is younger sister of John Preston who also recently raced for GB at the World U23 Championships.

Preston and Eleanor Piggott both competed for GB at the Coupe de la Jeunesse in 2007.

=============================== ===============================
5-8 August 2009
Brive, France



Amber Anderson (Lady Eleanor Holles School)/
Olivia Carnegie-Brown (Reading RC)/
Caragh McMurtry (Southampton Coalporters)/
Brianna Stubbs (Canford School)

Single Scull

Rachael Gamble-Flint (Yarm)

Quadruple Scull

Rosa Atkinson (Runcorn RC)/
Helen Preston (Durham ARC)/
Eleanor Piggott (Bedford High School)/
Phoebe Lucas (Borlase)



Nick Clarke (Walton RC/)/
Tom Edwards (Durham School BC)


Andrew Holmes (George Watson’s College)/
Jason Philips (St Paul’s School)/
Will Perham (Kingston Grammar Schol)/
Constantine Louloudis (Eton College)

Coxed Four

Charlie Rendle (Pangbourne College)/
Charles Herbert (Pangbourne College)/
Ertan Hazine (Wallingford RC)/
Felix Wood (Abingdon School)/
Rory Copus (cox) (Abingdon School)


Max Monfared (Eton College)/
Ed Nainby-Luxmoore (Eton College)/
Matthew Tatlock (Molesey BC)/
Stephen Jones (King’s Chester)/
Sam Arnot (King’s Chester)/
Stewart Innes (St Edwards School)/
Caspar Jopling (Eton College)/
George Rossiter (Abingdon School)/
Franz Imfeld (cox) (King’s Chester)


Team Manager: John Layng
Chief Coach: Richard Boulton
Team Doctor: Dr Lucy Free
Physiotherapist: Rachel Burr
Equipment Manager: Bret King

Coaches: Ian Dryden, Mark Woodcock,
Colin Greenaway, Eira Parry, John Ward,
Nick de Cata