STAGING Team announced for annual GB v France U16 match - British Rowing

Team announced for annual GB v France U16 match

A 51-strong squad will be looking to secure a third successive win for the GB Rowing Team in the annual junior U16 match against France this weekend.

A total of 13 crews – consisting of 27 junior men, 22 junior women and two spares – have been named for the contest, taking place in London Docklands on Sunday.


All came through a well-contested selection regatta at the National Watersports Centre in Nottingham.

Henley Rowing Club has the largest representation in the women’s team, with the four of Lily Stimpson, Georgia Edwards, Charlotte Orr and Isabel Jonsson having recently won the West End ARA Trophy at the Henley Women’s Regatta.

Five Henley RC rowers are joined by four from Marlow RC in the women’s eight, while there is Scottish representation in the women’s pair through Glasgow Academy’s India Somerside and Becky Neilson.

In the junior men’s team, five members of the all-conquering Eton College Colts A crew have been selected in the coxed four.

National Schools’ Regatta champions William Jacobs and Tom Smith of The Windsor Boys’ School will contest the men’s double sculls.

Shiplake College rowers will make up the four having won silver at the National Schools’ earlier this year – three of them won bronze in the quad last year.

And St Paul’s School, after winning 12 National Schools’ medals and the Princess Elizabeth Challenge Cup at Henley, provide four members of the men’s eight alongside four rowers and a cox from Winchester College BC. The Winchester eight has won silver, first in the J15 age group and then J16 this year, at each of the last two National Schools Regattas. Alex Wythe, Hugo Durward, Tobias Schroder and cox Kelvin Pak also won the Creber Cup for coxed quadruple skulls at the 2014 event.

This annual team match, held alternately in the UK and France, is a club-based event and provides a good target for clubs and schools to put crews together. The nation who wins the most events wins the match.



Victor Kleshnev (Maidenhead RC)
Coach: Katerina Kleshneva


William Jacobs (The Windsor Boys’ School BC)
Tom Smith (The Windsor Boys’ School BC)
Coach: Lewis Sloan


Chris Daniell (Marlow RC)
Sam Long (Marlow RC)
Matt Lucas (Marlow RC)
John Cooper (Marlow RC)
Coach: Nick de Cata


Freddie Elwes (Radley College BC)
Joshua Bowesman-Jones (Radley College BC)


Charlie Pearson (Eton College BC)
Thomas Shurman (Eton College BC)
Patrick Adams (Eton College BC)
Felix Drinkall (Eton College BC)
David Austen (cox) (Eton College BC)
Coach: Sam Grant


Casper Woods (St Paul’s School BC)
Rufus Guy (St Paul’s School BC)
Harry Orwell (St Paul’s School BC)
Alex Waller (St Paul’s School BC)
Luke Robinson (Winchester College BC)
Alex Wythe (Winchester College BC)
Hugo Durward (Winchester College BC)
Tobias Schroder (Winchester College BC)
Kelvin Pak (cox) (Winchester College BC)
Coach: Dan Pounds


Christian Hjortland-Marks (Shiplake College BC)
Henry Blois-Brooke (Shiplake College BC)
Hugo Oglina (Shiplake College BC)
Sebastian Newman (Shiplake College BC)
Coach: Dave Currie


Lucy Glover (Warrington RC)
Coach: Andrew Collier


Hannah Stocks (Nottingham RC)
Lucy Holgate (Nottingham RC)
Coach: Declan Gamble


Ella Morgan (Henley RC)
Lauren Kay (Henley RC)
Clare Pearson (Henley RC)
Florence Wiggins (Henley RC)
Coach: Chris Boothroyd


India Somerside (Glasgow Academy)
Becky Neilson (Glasgow Academy)
Coach: Mary Massaro


Lily Stimpson (Henley RC)
Georgia Edwards (Henley RC)
Charlotte Orr (Henley RC)
Isabel Jonsson (Henley RC)
Coach: Richard Wheeler


Georgina Robinson Ranger (Henley RC)
Charlotte Moss (Henley RC)
Katy-Ann Claridge (Henley RC)
Anna Roe (Henley RC)
Siobhan Mottram (Marlow RC)
Charlotte Fennel (Marlow RC)
Georgia Dean (Marlow RC)
Laurie Weatherhall (Marlow RC)
Rebecca Lister (cox) (Henley RC)
Coach: Colin Picton


JM1x – Ben Simon (Marlow RC)
JW1x – Verity Cole (Lady Eleanor Holles BC)