STAGING Volunteer and Coach of the Year Awards 2015 - British Rowing

Volunteer and Coach of the Year Awards 2015


Volunteer of the Year Awards, Group photo

The 2015 British Rowing Volunteer Awards took place on Saturday 28 November at the historic Cutlers’ Hall, London. The event celebrated coaches and volunteers who have made an outstanding contribution to our Sport in a variety of ways.

Overall, 43 volunteers and coaches came from across the country who were joined by club officials and members of British Rowing staff.


British Rowing Chairman, Annamarie Phelps, said, “The annual awards celebrate the countless ways our members contribute to the sport. From umpiring and coaching through to officiating and administrating, they really are the glue that binds our great sport together. I would like to thank every one of you for the time you devote to rowing”.

Presenting the awards was guest speaker and 2008 Beijing Paralympic Champion Helene Raynsford who gave a great insight into how the effort and commitment of volunteers had helped her become the first ever winner of a rowing Paralympic medal.

“Volunteers are the life and soul of grass roots sport so it is important to recognise and celebrate their work.  Sport is such a powerful tool and the benefits of participation, which is facilitated mainly by volunteers in our clubs, far outweigh the time spent at the club.”

Volunteers were recognised by their regions for a range of categories including Overall Regional Winner, Event Administration and Young Volunteer. Winners included Tim and Paula Walton from the East Midlands region. Their nominee described their contribution to the sport as “immense” with the comment added that “not much in the world of British Rowing would be possible without the help of both of these two brilliant and dedicated volunteers”.

On receiving his award, Club Administration winner for the Yorkshire Region, Alex Foyle said, “The award means a lot to me. I had no idea I had even been nominated for it, so to hear I had won an award was such an honour.”

In addition, coaching awards were given for work in education development, club development and lifetime achievement. Notable winners were Ardingly Rowing Club in the Team Award for the Thames Region. The Junior Coaching team of Mark Abbott, David Clark, Mostyn Field, David Reed, Derek Riches, Carlos Scovell, Bob Simpson and Wolfgang Weis were responsible for successfully building a squad of 60 from 24 educational establishments.

The final award of the day was the National Water Safety Award which went to Antony Reynolds of Crabtree Rowing Club for his outstanding effort within safety over the past year including the review and production of the new Tideway Code. Described as taking a “professional approach”, it underlines the application and attitude of him and all the other volunteers who were recognised on the day.

For full citations of each winner, please download the booklet below.

Volunteer Awards

East Region

Overall Regional Winner – Max Heron, Norwich Rowing Club & Whitlingham Boathouses

Club Administration Category – Susannah Clements, Rob Roy Boat Club

Event Administration Category – Will Everitt, Bedford Rowing Club

Open Cateory- Hugo van Kempen

East Midlands Region

Overall Regional Winner – Paula and Tim Walton, Leicester Rowing Club

North West Region

Club Administration – Fiona Marley-Paterson, Lakeland Rowing Club

Open Category – Gill Laidlaw, Warrington Rowing Club

Young Volunteer – Ellen Preece, Northwich Rowing Club, Northwich Heads & Regatta

Northern Region

Regional Overall Winner – Mike Dodd, Talkin Tarn Amateur Rowing Club

Open Category – Ian Stonehouse, St Leonard’s School Boat Club

Thames Region

Overall Regional Winner – Chris Williams, Tideway Scullers School

Young Volunteer – Maks Orzel, Royal Holloway Boat Club

Event Administration Category – Clare Doubleday and Marcus Norton, Abingdon Rowing Club & Head

Club Administration – Andy Ciecierski, Reading Rowing Club

Safety Category – Antony Reynolds, Crabtree Rowing Club

WAGS Region

Open Category – Antony Constantinidi, Avon County Rowing Club

Event Administration – Julian Bewick, Monkton Bluefriars Boat Club

Club Administration – Jane Giddins, Minerva Bath Rowing Club

West Region

Overall Regional Winner – Mark Eastman, River Teign Rowing Club (Teign Scullers)

West Midlands Region

Event Administration – Chris Anton, Birmingham Rowing Club & Birmingham Regatta

Club Administration – Sarah Gregory, Birmingham Rowing Club

Safety Category – Chris Llewellyn, Birmingham Rowing Club

Yorkshire Region

Overall Regional Winner – Phil Jones, York City Rowing Club

Club Administration Category – Alex Foyle, Hull University Boat Club

Young Volunteer – Ceri Armit, Sheffield University Rowing Club

National Water Safety Award

Antony Reynolds, Crabtree Rowing Club

Coach of the Year Awards

Special Award Lifetime Achievement

Ian Bardrick – Peterborough City Rowing Club

Highly Commended Club Performance

Tom Copeland – Cantabrigian Rowing Club

Highly Commended Education and Development

Rebecca Gill – Nottingham Trent University

Club Performance

John McQuillian and Richard Sinnott – Warrington Rowing Club

Education Development

Peter Webster – North Staffordshire Rowing Club

Lifetime Achievement

Chris Williams – Tideway Scullers School

Team Award

Mark Abbot, David Clark, Mostyn Field, David Reed, Derek Riches, Carlos Scovell, Bob Simpson and Wolfgang Weis, Ardingly Rowing Club

Club Development

Robin Mills, Castle Dore Rowing Club

Photos by Simon Way