STAGING Marcus Chute shortlisted for SportsAid One-to-Watch Award 2022 - British Rowing

Marcus Chute shortlisted for SportsAid One-to-Watch Award 2022

Sculler Marcus Chute is one of the top 10 athletes on the shortlist for this year’s Award. The annual award was launched in 2006 and looks to shine a spotlight on the achievements of Britain’s brightest young sporting prospects


The One-to-Watch Award shortlist for this year includes Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games medallists and junior world champions – with many European and national accolades won by the nominees:

  • Charlotte Jenman, 17, from Dartford – Judo
  • Emmanuel Oyinbo-Coker, 21, from Grays – Para Athletics
  • Gabrielle Holland, 16, from East Grinstead – Modern Pentathlon
  • Jayda Pechová, 18, from Fleet – Netball
  • Lucy Garlick, 15, from Carshalton – Climbing
  • Marcus Chute, 18, from Datchet – Rowing 
  • Marfa Ekimova, 17, from Welling – Rhythmic Gymnastics
  • Mark Swan, 21, from Seaham – Powerlifting
  • Poppy Maskill, 17, from Middlewich – Para Swimming
  • Yemi Mary John, 19, from Woodford – Athletics.

Marcus rowed as a junior at the Windsor Boy’s School BC. His recent successes include:

  • Gold in the men’s 2,000m singles at the National Schools’ Regatta 2022
  • Winner of the Fawley Challenge Cup at Henley Royal Regatta 2022
  • Gold in the men’s 2,000m singles at the European Rowing Championships 2022 (Under-19s)
  • Fifth in the men’s 2,000m singles at the World Rowing Championships 2022 (Under-19s).

Read SportsAid’s interview with him here.

The 10 athletes have been selected from around 1,000 rising British stars, supported by SportsAid, across more than 60 different sports during 2022. Each year, athletes are nominated by their sport’s governing body on the strength of their talent and potential, demonstrating why the One-to-Watch Award has gained such a strong reputation for identifying the best up-and-coming prospects. The winner will be announced at the charity’s Celebrate the Next event, supported by Royal Bank of Canada, on Thursday, 17 November.

The expert judging panel includes rower Sarah Winckless MBE (chair), 2004 Olympic bronze medallist, 2005 and 2006 World Champion and former Chef De Mission for Commonwealth Games England; Ama Agbeze, Commonwealth Games gold medallist; Natasha Baker MBE, a six-time Paralympic champion; Nick Hope, an award-winning Olympic and Paralympic broadcaster; and Joslyn Hoyte-Smith of the GB Olympians’ Association.

The success of the One-to-Watch Award’s illustrious ‘Hall of Fame’ speaks for itself as previous victors, including Tom Daley OBE, Hollie Arnold MBE, Courtney Tulloch and Alex Yee MBE, have already amassed over 50 senior medals from Olympic and Paralympic Games, World and European Championships, as well as Commonwealth Games, firmly establishing themselves as household names in British sport. The only rower to have won the award so far is Holly Dunford in 2017.