STAGING British university rowers shine in Moscow - British Rowing

British university rowers shine in Moscow

University of Reading’s Amy Grieves, Helena Rozman, Midia Hadjixenofontos, and Rose Willoughby.

The GB Universities team claimed third place at the 2011 European Universities Rowing Championships, after collecting two gold, five silver, and four bronze medals in Moscow.

The seventh annual championships, which took place at the Krylatskoe Canoeing and Rowing Course in Moscow from August 30–September 2, attracted students from around the world – with 10 universities providing rowers for the British team.


The University of East London entered its first ever crew into the championships, and were rewarded with a gold medal as John Collins – who has represented the GB Rowing Team at the last two successive World Rowing U23 Championships – and Alan Sinclair came out top in the Men’s Double Sculls.

The University of East London's John Collins and Alan Sinclair

The British team also claimed gold in the Lightweight Women’s Quadruple Sculls, courtesy of the University of Reading’s Amy Grieves, Helena Rozman, Midia Hadjixenofontos, and Rose Willoughby.

Reading crews claimed a further silver medal and two bronzes for the British Universities, with Bath, Nottingham, and Nottingham Trent crews also claiming podium places on a successful weekend for the 2010 overall champions.

‘It was the biggest challenge yet, but the team were the most enjoyable that I’ve ever worked with,’ said 2011 Team Manager James Lee. ‘It was a pleasure, and an honour.’

Hosts Russia won the prestigious EUSA Salver as overall winners of the event, with Germany finishing second.


Team GBR – full squad

University of Bath

Women’s 1x: Gabriella Rodriguez

University of Birmingham

Women’s 1x: Sarah Lonergan

University of Bristol

Women’s 8: Claire Rafferty, Lizzie Hoogland, Sinead Connell, Ella Billson, Stacey Crocker, Gemma Bowler, Alice Munro, Kate Parrish, (cox) Emma Searle

University of Cambridge

Women’s 8: Pernille Thuesen, Catherine Wheeler, Sarah Allen, Tamara Hornik, Fran Knight, Rebecca Pound, Isabel Boanas-Evans, Elizabeth Polgreen, (cox) Kate Richards

University of East London

Men’s 2x: John Collins, Alan Sinclair

University of Glasgow

Men’s 2x: Daniel Graham, Michael McNaul

University of London

Lwt Men’s 4x: Joseph John, Ben Reilly-O’Donnell, Dan Crockford, Matt Bedford

Women’s 4-: Ruth Carpenter, Monica Keczkowska, Helen Van Kempen, Diane French

Lwt Women’s 2x: Rebecca Humphreys, Helen Ralston

University of Nottingham

Lwt Men’s 8: David Porter, Alistair Cooper, Austin Harper, Ashley Pain, Max Murdoch, Mark Northover, George McKirdy, Alex Walker, (cox) Katie Powers

Lwt Men’s 4-: Austin Harper, Ashley Pain, George McKirdy, Alex Walker

Lwt Men’s 2x: Richard Watton, Stuart Sykes

Lwt Men’s 1x: Ed Mace

Nottingham Trent University

Women’s 2x: Emma Corless, Rebecca Gill

Lwt Women’s 1x: Nicola Spencer

University of Reading

Men’s 4x: Matt Ballaam, Matt Tatlock, Phil Clapp, Ray Poulter

Women’s 8: Ally Brooks, Caragh McMurtry, Bethan Walters, Jenny Cogger, Jenny Spencer, Vicky Tomalin, Emma Spruce, Lydia Jackson, (cox) Nick Barnett

Lightweight Women’s 4x: Amy Grieves, Helena Rozman, Midia Hadjixenofontos, Rose Willoughby

Women’s 2-: Ally Brooks, Caragh McMurtry


Management & Support Team 

James Lee, Team Manager

Georgia Seddon, Assistant Team Manager

Nick Acock, Logistics/Driver

Neil Cobb , Logistics/Driver

Fiona Rennie, Finance Support

Natalie Campbell, Admin Support



Richard Poole (Birmingham)

Edward Fenn (Bristol)

Jonathan Conder (Cambridge)

Karl Offord (London)

Filip Ljubicic  (London)

Ray Sims (Nottingham)

Dan Janes (Nottingham)

Adam Gill (Nottingham Trent)

Will Rand (Reading)