STAGING Aberdeen Boat Race crews revealed - British Rowing

Aberdeen Boat Race crews revealed

The teams have been announced for the Aberdeen Asset Management Boat Race, as Aberdeen (AUBC) and Robert Gordon (RGU) universities prepare to do battle for the 17th time on the River Dee.

This year’s race will take place on March 10th, with club presidents Katie McPherson (AUBC) and Ruth Wright (RGU) both hoping to lead their respective crews to victory in Scotland’s longest-running boat race.


Victory for McPherson’s crew would be Aberdeen’s 15th win from 17 races, and the Ayr-born AUBC captain has selected a strong crew:

John McIntyre (23, Elgin), Alex Wohling (23, Germany), Alex MacQueen (21, Edinburgh), Calum Thirlwell (23, Northumberland), Ellie Wagstaff (21, Perthshire), Ingibjorg Thomsen (24, Faroe Islands), Jenny Allan (21, St Andrews), Naomi Patterson (22, Uplawmoor), and cox Andrew McNeil.

“The team have been training very hard,” MacPherson told STV. “I think it could be a tight affair this year but hopefully Aberdeen will come through.”

RGU have only won the fiercely-contested race twice in its 17-year history, but 2012 president Wright is aiming for more than just victory with her crew this year.

“The last two years haven’t gone as well as we would have hoped but this year we are going for a course record,”she said.

“We go into the race as underdogs so there is no pressure. We just have to try our hardest.

RGU’s crew for the 2012 Aberdeen Boat Race includes:

Lucy Bonnamy (21, Aberdeen), Sarah Marshall (30, Canada), Gary Wilson (20, Aberdeen), Scott Purdie (25, Dumfries), Sophie White (19, Banchory), Alasdair Crawford (17, Inverness), Richard Hills (24, Naim) and cox Diane Tool.

Keep track of preparations for the 2012 Aberdeen Boat Race by following the official Twitter account and Facebook page.