STAGING Western school rowers shine in Plymouth - British Rowing

Western school rowers shine in Plymouth

Tuesday 6th March saw schools from across Cornwall and Devon come together for the regional indoor rowing competition, held at and sponsored by UCP Marjon in Plymouth.

303 pupils took part in the event in years 7-13. The competition followed the ‘Go Race Indoors’ framework, with pupils rowing for a set period of time depending on their age group. This year, the event also incorporated the Devon School Games, with results filtered for a separate ‘Devon only’ category.


The event was ran by British Rowing staff and supported by volunteers from Plymouth SSP, UCP Marjon and City College Plymouth. The performance of the day came from Andrew Wheeler of Exmouth Community College, who scored 113% of the gold medal target, rowing 917m in 3 minutes.

Many of the competitors were members of rowing clubs with representatives from several gig rowing and sliding seat clubs from across the region. The event was the third in a series for many competitors, who would have competed at a level 1 and 2 event previously. Many will now go on to compete at the National Junior Indoor Competition (NJIRC) on the 23rd March.

Event Male Female
Year 12/13 (2,000m)

Jacob Dawson, 6:23 – 109%

Plymstock School

Holly Stead, 7:46 – 99%

Heles School

Year 7 (2 mins)

Tom Perry, 551 – 108%

Penrice School

Louise Lecointe, 518m – 105%

Devonport High for Girls

Year 8 (3 mins)

Andrew Wheeler, 917m – 113%

Exmouth Community College

Lucy Brigly, 778m – 103%

Gems Bolitho

Year 9 (4 mins)

Charlie White, 1175m – 104%

Bideford College

Alicia Parson, 1057 – 103%

Devonport High for Girls

Year 10 (5 mins)

Tom Worden, 1468m – 102%

Mullion School

Emily Kneale, 1301m – 102%

Bodmin Community College

Year 11 (6 mins)

Kieryn Gayson, 1749m – 101%

Bideford College

Chloe Brew, 1621 – 105%

Coombe Dene School

Top Placing School Bideford College Devonport High School for Girls
Top Year 7 School Plymstock School
Overall School Bideford College

Rhiannon Halliday