STAGING Adaptive World Champions win at 2012 Boat Race - British Rowing

Adaptive World Champions win at 2012 Boat Race

A GB Rowing Team LTA four defeated four British Rowing Start Programme athletes ahead of the 158th Boat Race on Saturday (7th April).

The GB Rowing Team’s World Champion LTA four of Pamela Relph, Naomi Riches, David Smith, James Roe and Lily van den Broecke (cox) are currently trialling to represent Team GB at the London 2012 Paralympic Games, and showed their experience by powering to victory.


The British Rowing talent ID start programme boat – containing Olivia Marshall, Will King, Ben Jackson, Catie Sharrod and Henry Fieldman (cox) – got off to a very competitive start from the Boat Race stakeboats at Putney Bridge, but were unable to keep pace with their illustrious rivals as they closed on the finish line at the Town Buoy.

The crews raced in boats named after Beijing Adaptive gold medallists Tom Aggar (GBRT crew) and Helene Raynsford (ID crew) in front of thousands of rowing fans lining the Thames at Putney Embankment and Bishops Park.

For more information about the 2012 Boat Race events, visit