STAGING GB Team Announced for European Rowing U23 Championships 2022 - British Rowing

GB Rowing Team announced for European Rowing U23 Championships

32 athletes have been selected to represent Great Britain at the European Rowing U23 Championships 2022 which will take place in Hazewinkel, Belgium, on 3-4 September 2022


(c) AllMarkOne

The squad comprises several athletes who recently competed at the U23 Worlds in Italy, including gold medallist in the men’s coxed four, Robbie Prosser, now competing in the men’s eight with Jake Wincomb who also won gold in Varese, but in the men’s eight, and Twickenham Start – British Rowing’s Olympic talent identification programme – athlete Vwairé Obukohwo who won bronze in the women’s double in Varese. Vwairé this time partners Lauren Henry who finished fourth in the single scull in Varese.

Commenting on the squad, Peter Sheppard, GB Rowing Team Deputy Director of Olympic Pathways said: “The U23 European Championships provides another exciting Championship racing opportunity for predominantly a new group of up-and-coming U23s, many of whom will be making their debuts representing Great Britain. The experience this cohort of athletes will gain racing in Hazewinkel can provide an important stepping stone for international representation in the future, whether at senior or U23 level. Many of the 2021 U23 Europeans team made a successful step to winning medals at this year’s U23 World Championships in Varese.”


U23 European team

U23 Men’s Eight (BM8+)

Adam Von Bismark (London RC / Brown)
Matt Peters (Leander Club / Washington University)
Felix Rawlinson (Thames RC / Dartmouth College)
Robbie Prosser (University of Bristol BC)
Jens Hullah (Oxford Brookes University BC)
Jake Wincomb (Oxford Brookes University BC)
Laurence Joss (Tideway Scullers School / Syracuse)
Toby Lassen (Oxford Brookes University BC)
Cox: Zahir Ala (Imperial College BC)
Coach: Chris Tebb (Oxford Brookes University BC)

U23 Men’s Four (BM4-)

Tom Cross (University of London BC)
Ben Hinves (Oxford Brookes University BC)*
James Doran (Edinburgh University BC)
Louis Nares (Oxford Brookes University BC)
Coach: Chris Tebb (Oxford Brookes University BC)

*Max Thompson (Oxford Brookes University BC) was originally selected but has been withdrawn due to illness.

U23 Men’s Quad (BM4x)

Josh Lyon (Reading University BC)
Cameron Kemp (Strathclyde Park RC)
Bryn Ellery (Leander Club)
Levin Gräf (Durham University BC)
Coach: Tom Young (GB Rowing Team – Strathclyde Start)

U23 Men’s Double (BM2x)

Jamie Gare (Bath University BC)
Miles Devereux (Oxford Brookes University BC)
Coach: Tom Young (GB Rowing Team – Strathclyde Start)

U23 Women’s Four (BW4-)

Jessica Martin (Leander Club)
Grace Dening Smitherman (Leander Club)
Annie Sharp (Thames RC)
Maia Hely (Glasgow University BC)
Coach: Sander Smulders (Thames RC)

U23 Women’s Quad (BW4x)

Anna Grace (Leander Club)
Heather Taylor (Strathclyde Park RC / Northeastern)
Molly Curry (Queen’s University Belfast Ladies BC)
Rachel Bradley (Newcastle University BC)
Coach: Pete Sheppard (GB Rowing Team)

U23 Women’s Double (BW2x)

Lauren Henry (Leicester RC)
Vwairé Obukohwo (Twickenham RC)
Coach: Pete Sheppard (GB Rowing Team)

U23 Lightweight Women’s Double (BLW2x)

Annabelle Ruinet (Marlow RC)
Lauren Maddison (Reading University BC)
Coach: Chris Bartley (Reading University BC)

U23 Lightweight Women’s Single (BLW1x)

Olivia Bates (Nottinghamshire County RA)
Coach: Declan Gamble (Nottinghamshire County RA)

Support staff

Anna Liddell (Team Manager)
Becky Davison (Physiotherapist)