STAGING Great Britain squad for World Rowing Cup 2 announced - British Rowing

Great Britain squad for World Rowing Cup 2 announced

Three of the four medal-winning boats from the European Rowing Championships return to action at World Rowing Cup 2 in Poznan between 16-18 June


Holly Nixon, Jess Leyden, Mathilda Hodgkins-Byrne and Beth Bryan at the 2017 European Rowing Championships - Naomi Baker

Olympic and Paralympic champions will compete for Great Britain in the second World Cup regatta of the season in Poznan, between 16-18 June.

Paralympic events are on the schedule in Poland, and Rio 2016 gold medallists in the mixed double scull, Lauren Rowles and Laurence Whiteley, will compete in the PR2 races (formerly TA 2x). Whiteley recently won a gold and bronze in the single at the Gavirate International Para-rowing Regatta, while Rowles is set to race for the first time since Rio.


Three of the four medal-winning boats from the European Championships in Racice will return in Poznan, with Victoria Thornley continuing in the women’s single scull, having been crowned European champion in the Czech Republic.

The women’s quadruple scull retains Holly Nixon, Jess Leyden, Mathilda Hodgkins-Byrne and Beth Bryan, while Katherine Copeland and Emily Craig, also bronze medallists in Racice, will race together again, with a second lightweight women double of Eleanor Piggott and Gemma Hall also entered.

An injury to Holly Norton means she and Karen Bennett will not race at the World Cup in the women’s pair, although Rebecca Girling and Anastasia Chitty – reserves in Racice – are entered in the event.

On the men’s side, John Collins returns to the quadruple scull having missed the Europeans with illness, with his replacement, Tom Barras, set to race the single sculls in Poland. A second quad will also travel, made up of lightweight scullers.

Callum McBrierty steps out of the men’s four, replaced by Matt Rossiter, and into the eight, where he is also joined by Rossiter’s former pairs partner Jacob Dawson. Tim Clarke, a reserve in Racice, comes in to the eight. Sam Arnot and Tom Jeffery move out of the eight and in to the new look pair formation, with a potential second pair to be confirmed.

World Cup leaders in the lightweight men’s double, Peter Chambers and Will Fletcher race together, looking to improve on a tough weekend of racing in the European Championships, where they finished sixth in a world-class field. Joel Cassells and Sam Scrimgeour will again team up in the lightweight men’s pair.

Nick Middleton returns from injury to make his first appearance of the season in the double scull, partnering Frazier Christie, with talented under-23 Scot Josh Armstrong joining Barras as GB’s second single scull entry. Alice Baatz, upcoming sculler from the World Class Start programme at Agecroft, races in the second women’s single alongside Thornley.

The women’s double scull that won the B final in Racice returns, with Emily Carmichael and Georgia Francis teaming up, while the only personnel change to the women’s eight is in the cox’s seat, with Mathilda Horn coming in for Erin Wysocki-Jones.

Great Britain squad for World Rowing Cup 2
Men’s squad

Thomas Jeffery (Club: Leander Club/Hometown: Plymouth)
Sam Arnot (Leander Club/Chester)
Coaches: Rob Dauncey/Christian Felkel

Matt Rossiter (Leander Club/Newbury)
Moe Sbihi (Molesey BC/Surbiton)
Matthew Tarrant (Oxford Brookes Univ. BC/Shepperton)
Will Satch (Leander Club/Henley-on-Thames)
Coach: Jürgen Grobler

Lance Tredell (Cambridge Univ. BC/Altrincham)
Tim Clarke (Leander Club/Henley-on-Thames)
Jacob Dawson (Leander Club/Plymouth)
Adam Neill (Leander Club/Peterborough)
Tom Ransley (Leander Club/Ashford, Kent)
Callum McBrierty (Leander Club/Edinburgh)
James Rudkin (Newcastle Univ. BC/Litchborough)
Tom Ford (Leander Club/Holmes Chapel)
Henry Fieldman (cox) (Molesey BC/London)
Coaches: Rob Dauncey/Christian Felkel

Single scull
GBR1 – Tom Barras (Leander Club/Staines)
GBR2 – Josh Armstrong (Edinburgh Univ. BC/Glasgow)
Coach: Paul Stannard

Double scull
Nick Middleton (Leander Club/Henley-on-Thames)
Frazier Christie (Bath Univ. BC/Bath)
Coach: Hamish Burrell

Quadruple scull
Jack Beaumont (Leander Club/Maidenhead)
Jonny Walton (Leander Club/Leicester)
John Collins (Leander Club/Twickenham)
Peter Lambert (Leander Club/Maidenhead)
Coach: Paul Stannard

Ed Fisher (Leander Club/Nottingham)
Jamie Copus (Oxford Brookes Univ. BC/Watlington)
Zak Lee-Green (Agecroft RC/Cardiff)
Sam Mottram (Leander Club/Stoke Mandeville)
Coach: Dan Moore

Lightweight men’s double scull
Peter Chambers (Oxford Brookes Univ. BC/Coleraine)
Will Fletcher (Leander Club/Chester-le-Street)
Coach: Hamish Burrell

Lightweight men’s pair
Joel Cassells (Oxford Brookes Univ. BC/Coleraine)
Sam Scrimgeour (Molesey BC/Kirriemuir)
Coaches: Rob Dauncey/Christian Felkel

Women’s squad

Anastasia Chitty (Leander Club/Oxford)
Rebecca Girling (Molesey/Fareham)
Coach: James Harris

Annie Withers (Oxford Brookes Univ. BC/Kingston)
Sara Parfett (Univ. of London BC/Rochester)
Caragh McMurtry (Coalporters ARC/Southampton)
Rebecca Chin (Agecroft RC/Deganwy)
Jo Wratten (Leander Club/Middlesbrough)
Rebecca Shorten (Imperial College BC/Belfast)
Fiona Gammond (Leander Club/Bicester)
Katherine Douglas (Leander Club/Edinburgh)
Matilda Horn (cox) (Univ. of London BC/Windsor)
Coach: James Harris

Single scull

GBR1 – Vicky Thornley (Leander Club/Wrexham)
GBR2 – Alice Baatz (Agecroft RC/Winchester)
Coach: Paul Reedy

Double scull
Georgia Francis (Imperial College/Newbury)
Emily Carmichael (Leander Club/Cheltenham)
Coach: Paul Reedy

Quadruple scull
Beth Bryan (Leander Club/Stockton-on-Tees)
Mathilda Hodgkins-Byrne (Reading RC/Hereford)
Jess Leyden (Leander Club/Todmorden)
Holly Nixon (Leander Club/Enniskillen)
Coach: Paul Thompson

Lightweight double scull

Katherine Copeland (Leander Club/Ingleby Barwick)
Emily Craig (Univ. of London BC/Mark Cross)

Ellie Piggott (Wallingford RC/Bedford)
Gemma Hall (Wallingford RC/Wargrave)
Coach: Daren Whiter

Para-rowing squad

PR2 mixed double scull
Lauren Rowles (Marlow RC/Bromsgrove)
Laurence Whiteley (Tees RC/Northallerton)
Coach: Tom Dyson