STAGING Team announced for 2017 J16 GB v France Match - British Rowing

Team announced for 2017 J16 GB v France Match

Fifty-one junior British rowers will compete in the J16 GB v France Match at Royal Albert Docks on Thursday


A number of top junior rowers will face off this week in the 37th edition of the J16 Great Britain v France Match, with the home team looking to regain the title in 2017.

Last year, in Valenciennes, north east France, the French team broke a five-year spell of dominance by GB, taking the win by eight points to five. The Brits won the men’s and women’s eight, both coxless four events and the men’s double scull.


Schools and clubs from England and Scotland are represented in the 51-strong team, with the athletes taking to the water at the London Regatta Centre at the Royal Albert Docks on Thursday, 13 July.

Racing starts at 10am with the women’s eight, culminating at 12.20pm. British Rowing Chairman Annamarie Phelps CBE will be presenting the medals after the match alongside French delegate Lionel Girard.


Thomas Philpott – Walton RC
Matthew Heywood – Walton RC
Coach: Neil West – Walton RC

Henry Pooley – Eton College BC
Kian Power – Eton College BC
Max Shakespeare – Eton College BC
Henry Pearson – Eton College BC
Coach: Ellie Milne – Eton College BC

Coxed four
Thomas Horncastle – St Paul’s School BC
Oliver Parish – St Paul’s School BC
Holden Eaton – St Paul’s School BC
Albert Doyle – St Paul’s School BC
Benjamin Ray (cox) – St Paul’s School BC
Coach: Antony Smith – St Paul’s School BC

Bill Downey – Hampton School BC
Oli Bridge – Hampton School BC
Oli Woodall – Hampton School BC
Ben Andrews – Hampton School BC
Edward Rae Smith – Radley College BC
Theo Metcalf – Radley College BC
Dom Brown – Shiplake College BC
Marcus Brown – Shiplake College BC
Jacob Kirby (cox) – Shiplake College BC
Coach: Jon Neville – Hampton School BC

Single scull
Alex Milne – Glasgow Academy
Coach: Iain Somerside – Glasgow Academy

Double scull
Louis Powell – Lea RC
Jasper den Dulk – Lea RC
Coach: Mark Cushway – Lea RC

Quadruple scull
Oliver Taylor – Henley RC
Grant Taylor – Henley RC
Euan Turnell – Henley RC
Balthasar Issa – Henley RC
Coach: Tony Bailes – Henley RC

Racing spare
Dominic Sullivan – Globe RC


Megan Hewison – Aberdeen Schools RA
Abigail Topp – Aberdeen Schools RA
Coach: Jonny Muir – Aberdeen Schools RA

Jasmine Moore – Putney High School RC
Annabel Zedda James – Putney High School RC
Imogen Bantick – Putney High School RC
Lucy Miles – Putney High School RC
Coach: Ashley Carter – Putney High School RC

Cleo Pryor – Marlow RC
Katya Robbins – Marlow RC
Emma Berry – Marlow RC
Daisy Bellamy – Marlow RC
Alice Bolitho – Lea RC
Elsa Froggatt-Brown – Lea RC
Molly Sharman – Lea RC
Rachel McDonald – Lea RC
Charley Huggett (cox) – Marlow RC
Coach: Penny Thatcher – Marlow RC

Single scull
Olivia Morgan – Cambridge ’99 RC
Coach: Stuart Cain – Cambridge ’99 RC

Double scull
Mia O’Donnell – Becket RC
Olivia Bates – Becket RC
Coach: Martin Kay – Becket RC

Quadruple scull
Georgina Seal – Latymer Upper School BC
Maddie Lloyd – Latymer Upper School BC
Darla Mathews – Latymer Upper School BC
Mia Andersen – Latymer Upper School BC
Coach: Chris Clark – Latymer Upper School BC

Racing spare
Elizabeth Witt – Lady Eleanor Holles BC

CD Riches, Team Manager – Westminster School BC
Kate Callaghan, Assistant Team Manager – HMSG RC
Sean Boret, i/c Equipment – Hampton School BC
Dr Alex Woods, Team Doctor
Gaby Halloran, Physiotherapist